Aug 08, 2016

Grosvenor team celebrates EK Healy win

Grosvenor team celebrates EK Healy win

The Grosvenor mines rescue team has claimed victory at the 2016 EK Healy Cup, held at the Moranbah North mine in the Bowen Basin recently.

The team was led by Boyd Buschmann and included Reece Campbell, Brendan Sant, Luke Sturmfels, Shaun Britton, Wade Rothery, Jared Maher and vice-captain Shane Steven.

Chief assessor Ray Smith from the Queensland Mines Rescue Service said this year’s EK Healy was a tight contest.

“It was the closest competition in a decade – only 50 points difference between 1st and 8th, and Matt Best (leadership title) was even closer,” he said.

Grosvenor was followed in the podium places by teams from Cook, Oaky North and Oaky No.1.

Scott Ryan from Moranbah North won Matt Best Memorial Trophy for Best Captain and the Chief Inspector’s Trophy (Best Theory) went to James Hodgkinson, also from Moranbah North mine.

Mr Smith said the top four teams from the E K Healy competition would battle it out at the national competition at Kestrel mine in October.

Dark day for mines rescue